I am a Sunflower, I am a Garden

I am anxiety and kindness,

wrapped in hazel eyes and a sweet smile.

Even when darkness coils through my chest,

sunlight still extends through my mouth.

I love myself, my soul and my heart,

I don’t mind if no one else does.

I am strong, with shoulders that bear the pain of others,

and arms that carry my heart, bursting with love.

My intelligence is the tenacity of the lioness,

no adder’s tongue slips through my teeth.

My mind is expanding like the universe,

my talent growing like a sunflower.

I am a Garden that does not need to be tilled,

that does not need light.

My strength comes through the ground,

from  the roots beneath your feet,

from the earth and her inherent kindness,

whom you have forgotten.

Leave a Reply

