Friendship

Is this right?

This aching tightness in my chest

Like I am drowning.

Why does it feel,

Like there is a creature in my belly,

gnawing on my insides,

Working towards my heart?

Why, in the time of night when only I and the stars are up,

Do I feel lonelier than the sliver of the moon?

Why, do I feel a ripping need to be with and alone all at once?

I am marooned, like the Luna island above

Blood, slides from my mouth and weak eyes,

Black over the silver-dun of my skin.

No one No one No one

I HAVE LOVE AND LIGHT AND LOYALTY

I AM A WOLF IN THE SKIN OF A CHILD

HEAR ME HOWL AND FEEL ME, SEE ME

WHY? WHY why does love allude me?

Why do the ones closest to me cut me?

So deep that a monster slides over my skin

And behind my eyes?

Why, why when I give my heart and silver- black soul

Do I have it returned to me in tatters, sucked dry and useless

I AM GIVER, I WILL SHELTER AND PROTECT YOU

Why, why is my worth disregarded? My kindness spat on?

My singularity branded as strange?

My warmth stabbed at by shards of ice?

The casual snarl of indifference and rejection,

Claws and silver glued teeth tearing shreds through the shroud of my soul,

All I ask, from mother moon and sister stars,

Is just one, one friend who will be my equal

Who will love and respect me as much as I do them

Please, mother and sisters,

One whose heart is kind and true

Who will stop my monster in her growling tracks

Make her turn back and dissipate into my consciousness

Like smoke on the wind.

 

Leave a Reply

